Brand Identity

For this project I have to choose a high street store that I can visit in Cambridge. I’ll have to complete a page shop report detailing the store layout, atmosphere, uniform and etc. I will also have to complete a colour swatch page, SWOT analysis, PESTLE report and a positioning map on this company using information collected online and from my own market and primary research.  It is a marketing and promotional task that unites creative skills with business analysis. By the end of this project I’ll have to have a digital layout on issuu.com with printed version, sketchbook, bibliography and this reflective blog. Plus, as as “bonus”, I will design a page of marketing ideas for progression within this company; for example a new line of fragrance, make up, footwear or childrenswear. It should be something that this company do not have have products for, yet.

The brand that I chose to research and store that I’m gonna have to visit in Cambridge is ALL SAINTS.  To be honest, the first reason because I chose this brand was, I thought it was one of the most decent stores in Cambridge style wise, not because I actually like this brand. I didn’t wanna research H&M or TopShop because that would be super boring. But, when I started doing my research and looking into this brand deeper, I slowly started to change my mind about this brand. All I knew is that this brand carried very minimalistic style with very limited colour scheme of greys and beige colours, and what I can’t stand from the brands that are not as successful as Chanel and not as tasteless as Forever 21 is when they put up a high ass prise, like for example 89$, for the plain white T-shirt. Like, who do you think you are?! I thought ALL SAINTS was one of those. I mean, I know the quality might not suck completely, but not everyone is Kardashian, come on. Us, peasants, are never going to pay almost 100 bucks for the most basic ever piece of clothing such as white t-shirt. Or it is just mine unpopular opinion…

all-saints-4ee34c822f080

A bit about this brand’s “theme”: evoking a mood of decadent decay and distressed glamour with religious iconography and vintage details added to layer upon layer of carefully aged materials, their stores provide a mélange of inspiration, displayed with that ‘thrown together’ look emanating the idea that these are pieces one might find in an old junk shop.

When I went to ALL SAINTS official website and started looking at their look books, that’s when I actually realised I was wrong about thinking bad about this brand, they do have some beautiful and elegant pieces I’d kill for to have in my closet. Obviously I rushed to the All Saint Limited to see all the goods I’ll never have but don’t mind having the pleasure of staring at those aesthetically pleasing, well styled outfits. Those are the ones that stood up to me:

Beautiful, simple floor-length silk slip “Naomi dress” that’s worth £398.00. Expensive? Maybe. Elegant? Hell yes! Classy? Duh… On the first picture it is smartly paired with cropped wool blend jumper, that creates this polished and effortless look that if I beg my dad for long enough, is worth spending his money on. On the second picture paired with the same dress, the model is wearing an oversized sheepskin biker jacket featuring a soft shearling collar and lining, belted cuffs and smooth leather patches on the sleeves. More urban but still chic. I’m also in love with the colour of the jacket, I think it’s very soft and reminds me of the wet asphalt.

Brand Identity

Leave a Reply

